Hall of Fame Inductees to be Honored

by Joe GIlson

This weekend, five former stars of Simpson College will be inaugurated into the Simpson College Hall of Fame.

There will be a Hall of Fame celebration Friday night, and a presentation will take place at halftime of the homecoming game against Luther on Saturday. Other awards given out this weekend include The Double S Award and The Dick Buxton Award.

The inductees into the Hall of Fame include football player Clint Head ‘99, soccer player Alicia Jams ‘00, football player Guy Leman ‘99, golfer Hannah Wickman ‘oo, and softball player Deanne Wischmeier ‘98.

The criteria for the Hall of Fame is that members must be out of Simpson for 10 years, must have been a letter winner, and have given some evidence of professional success and community service. A top priority is a person’s athletic achievements during his or her time at Simpson. There can be no more than seven new members each year.

“Making it into the Hall of Fame just says a lot about the level of play they we’re able to maintain, and it compares them to the best players around the country at the Division III level,” Athletic Director John Sirianni said.

Dedication to his or her sport and hard work are things that all of these athletes have in common.

Assistant football coach Kevin Ferguson played football with Head and Lehman, both of whom will be inducted this weekend.

“Clint took the talent he had and developed it to become the best player possible,” Ferguson said. “He was a hard worker on the field, in the weight room and everywhere else. He was a leader in every way.”

Head softball coach Henry Christowski is in his 16th year of coaching and had good things to say about Wischmeier.

“She had a great work ethic coupled with a ‘team-first’ attitude,” Christowski said. “Her dedication to the team and to the effort necessary to make her a better player was constant. She was one of the truly great all-round players that I have had the pleasure of coaching while here at Simpson.”

The Hall of Fame celebration will be open to the public Friday, Oct. 1 starting at 5:30 p.m. There will be a social hour then a dinner for the program that starts at 6:30 p.m. Costs are $15 for adults and $6 for children.

Also receiving awards are football player Jeff Hartung, class of 1992, and wrestler Mitch Anderson, class of 1982. Hartung and Anderson will both receive the Double S Award, which is given to former athletes who have been successful in their careers, volunteer activities or hobbies. To receive this award you have to have lettered in your sport at Simpson.

Allison Fleming, a member of the Simpson Board of Trustees, will receive the Dick Buxton Award. This award goes to a member of the community who has willingly given time and effort to support athletics at Simpson College.