Stop sharing this Facebook hoax that’s resurfaced

Stop+sharing+this+Facebook+hoax+that%27s+resurfaced

by Alex Kirkpatrick, Digital Editor

WASHINGTON — A Facebook hoax has resurfaced in recent days, saying users’ privacy settings will automatically change, which will allow posts to become public.

The post demands users share the message to keep the website from sharing public information.

The post reads:

“Deadline tomorrow !!! Everything you’ve ever posted becomes public from tomorrow. Even messages that have been deleted or the photos not allowed. It costs nothing for a simple copy and paste, better safe than sorry. Channel 13 News talked about the change in Facebook’s privacy policy. I do not give Facebook or any entities associated with Facebook permission to use my pictures, information, messages or posts, both past and future. With this statement, I give notice to Facebook it is strictly forbidden to disclose, copy, distribute, or take any other action against me based on this profile and/or its contents. The content of this profile is private and confidential information. The violation of privacy can be punished by law (UCC 1-308- 1 1 308-103 and the Rome Statute). NOTE: Facebook is now a public entity. All members must post a note like this. If you prefer, you can copy and paste this version. If you do not publish a statement at least once it will be tactically allowing the use of your photos, as well as the information contained in the profile status updates. DO NOT SHARE. just copy and paste .”

The status – or some variation of it – has been around since at least June 2012, and new users tend to fall victim.

To address the wide concern, the company issued a statement in late 2012:

“There is a rumor circulating that Facebook is making a change related to ownership of users’ information or the content they post to the site. This is false. Anyone who uses Facebook owns and controls the content and information they post, as stated in our terms. They control how that content and information is shared. That is our policy, and it always has been.”

Another rumor circulated in 2015, telling users they had to write their names saying they do not give Facebook permission to use their content.

While there’s virtually no harm in sharing the post, their privacy won’t be compromised.

Anyone who sees the post, though, should report it as spam, Facebook officials said.