Gaffney named IIAC Golfer of the Year

by Zach James

Simpson now boasts the Iowa Conference Golfer of the Year after Jennifer Gaffney shot a  final-round 86 to finish at 324 overall over a two-weekend span.

Gaffney shot a personal-best even-par 72 on the day, which led all other golfers after first round play at Cedar Falls last Friday.

Gaffney is the fourth individual to get the honor of Golfer of the Year and is the seventh Storm golfer to receive a medal.

Over the two weekends, Simpson finished third as a team falling 77 strokes (1407 strokes overall) behind IIAC champion Wartburg.

The three top golfers for Simpson was Gaffney (324), Stacy Bergeson (346) and Jessica Lerdal (367).