Hall of Fame inductees honored

Hall of Fame inductees honored

by Amy JohnsonStaff Writer

Simpson College inducted six former athletes into the Hall of Fame during Homecoming. Those receiving the award included Adam Doll, Chris Donohue, Michelle Fowler, Kelly Schade-Fry, Michelle Mackie and Jeremy Whalen.

Doll, a 2002 alumnus, was a standout basketball player for the Storm. During his junior season, he was named Iowa Conference Player of the Year and awarded first team All-American. Along with these accomplishments, Doll was also nominated for the NCAA Outstanding Sportsperson of the Year award his senior year.

Mackie graduated 10 years earlier, in 1992 and also tore up the basketball court at Simpson. She was the team captain and two-time MVP for the Storm. Mackie’s efforts didn’t go unnoticed as she was also a two-time All-Conference Champion.

Two former teammates, Fowler and Schade-Fry, took to the softball field together and are being inducted together as well.

“I feel very honored to be selected to be in the Hall of Fame, especially to be nominated with the other athletes that are also being inducted,” Fowler said. “It’s especially exciting to be inducted next to my former teammate, Kelly Schade-Fry.

Shade-Fry holds seven NCAA Division III records and was named to the NCAA Division III National Championship All-Tournament team from 1996-1999. Her skills on the diamond won her a spot on the NCAA 25th Anniversary team when she led her team to the national championship. She played on both of Simpson’s national championship teams.

Fowler also played on the national championship teams in 1997 and 1999. She was named the Diamond Sports Catcher of the Year in 1999.

“I tried to keep going with catching after college, but after a few injuries and knee surgeries, it’s difficult,” Fowler said.

Fowler was also a three-time second team All-Conference selection and a two-time All-Midwest Region first team selection.

On the baseball field, Donohue, a 1994 alumnus, still holds a record for the Storm. He racked up the most career pitching wins. Not only was he named first team All-Conference and first team All-Region, he also grabbed honorable mention as an All-American.

Jeremy Whalen graduated in 1999 and was a member of both the football and wrestling teams. In football, Whalen was first team All-Conference twice. Whalen was a two-time Iowa Conference Champion in 1997 and 1998 in wrestling. He also placed sixth at the national tournament.

Along with the Hall of Fame inductions, an award known as the Double S award is given out to alumni who have demonstrated excellence in their community as well as their careers at Simpson College. Clark Ditzler, ’55, Eldon E. Huston, ’54, and Jason Jones, ’93, were the three chosen recipients this year.

Jones is now a teacher and head football coach for Blue Valley North High School in Kansas.

“I was surprised [on receiving the Double S award],” Jones said. “When you look at the two gentlemen that are receiving the award this year as well, they are in the classes of the 50s. They’ve obviously done a lifetime of good. I feel very honored.”